Is Addiction a "Brain Disease"? Does it Matter? - Seventeenth P. Browning Hoffman Memorial Lecture

Monday, March 12 2018, 4:00PM

Caplin Auditorium, School of Law, University of Virginia, Charlottesville

The Seventeenth P. Browning Hoffman Memorial Lecture in Law and Psychiatry will be presented at the School of Law, University of Virginia, on Monday, March 12 2018.  The Lecture will begin at 4:00 PM in the Caplin Auditorium at the School of Law, University of Virginia, Charlottesville VA.

Marc D. Lewis PhD, Emeritus Professor of Developmental Neuroscience, University of Toronto

will speak on the topic 

Is Addiction a "Brain Disease"? Does it Matter?

Marc Lewis is a neuroscientist and professor emeritus in developmental psychology, having taught at the University of Toronto for over twenty years and at Radboud University in the Netherlands for six. He is author or co-author of over 70 journal publications in psychology and neuroscience. In his first book on addiction, Memoirs of an Addicted Brain (2011), he connects his own years of drug use with an account of how the brain changes with addiction. In the second, The Biology of Desire: Why Addiction is Not a Disease (2015), biographies of addicts are linked with neuropsychological findings to show how addiction develops and how it can be overcome. Both books have been published in several languages, and Biology received the PROSE (Association of American Publishers) award for Psychology in 2016”

The P. Browning Hoffman Memorial Lecture welcomes the public to attend.  There is no charge.  A reception follows. 

Please find a map to locate the Caplin Auditorium here:  PDF map of UVA School of Law Grounds - find Caplin Auditorium

Please find a local map to find the School of Law Grounds here:  Map to locate UVA Law School Grounds

Past Hoffman Lecturers

2015 - Jeffrey Swanson PhD, Duke University

2013 - Laurence Steinberg PhD, Temple University

2011 - Kenneth Kendler MD, Virginia Commonwealth University

2009 - Elyn Saks JD, University of Southern California

2007 - Marvin Swartz MD, Duke University

2005 - Rebecca Dresser JD, Washington University at St Louis

2003 - Stephen J. Morse JD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania

2001 - Semyon Gluzman MD, Ukrainian Psychiatric Association

1997 - Robert Burt JD, Yale University

1996 - John Gunn MD, University of London

1993 - Thomas Grisso PhD, University of Massachusetts

1992 - Paul Applebaum MD, University of Massachusetts

1988 - Loren Roth MD, MPH, University of Pittsburgh

1986 - Norval Morris LLB, LLM, PhD, University of Chicago

1984 - Seymour Halleck MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

1983 (First Lecturer) - Alan Stone MD, Harvard University